AFL Rising Star Award

The AFL Rising Star Award was instituted in 1993 to recognise and encourage talented young players in the AFL. After each round of home and away games, a player is nominated and at the end of the season a panel of experts selects the winner. The winner must be under the age of 21 at January 1 of that year, must not have played more than 10 games to the start of that season and must not have been suspended by the AFL or State League tribunals during the season (as with the Brownlow Medal, players found guilty of certain offences and fined or reprimanded by the Tribunal remain eligible to win the award).

2000 nominations:
Rd. Player (Club)
1 Paul Hasleby (Fremantle)
2 David Spriggs (Geelong)
3 Damien Adkins (Collingwood)
4 Leigh Brown (Fremantle)
5 Adam Ramanauskas (Essendon)
6 Josh Fraser (Collingwood)
7 Adam Lange (Kangaroos)
8 Cameron Bruce (Melbourne)
9 Jude Bolton (Sydney)
10 Chad Cornes (Port Adelaide)
11 Glen Bowyer (Hawthorn)
12 Ian Perrie (Adelaide)

13 Beau McDonald (Brisbane)
14 Andrew Embley (West Coast Eagles)*
15 Matthew Whelan (Melbourne)
16 Brett Moyle (St Kilda)*
17 Matthew Pavlich (Fremantle)
18 Matthew Scarlett (Geelong)
19 Brad Green (Melbourne)
20 Ryan Houlihan (Carlton)
21 Chad Fletcher (West Coast Eagles)
22 Josh Carr (Port Adelaide)

1st Paul Hasleby (Fremantle)
2nd Adam Ramanauskas (Essendon)
3rd Beau McDonald (Brisbane)